Sarah Jane Keiper – An update and DNA results

A few months ago, I wrote a 52 Ancestors blog about my great great grandparents, Augustus and Sarah Jane (Keiper) Hettig. It was said that Sarah was a full blooded Indian that was adopted.

However, when I took a DNA test last year, Native American did not show up at all in my results. My ethnicity estimate is 40% Ireland, 35% Great Britain, 11% Italy/Greece, 9% Europe West, and trace regions consist of Iberian Peninsula, Finland/Northwest Russia, Europe East, Scandinavia, and Melanesia.

So was Sarah not Native America or did I just not receive any of the Native American DNA? And did the trace Melanesia figure in?

I bought another test and had my Mom take it. Her results were: 47% Europe West, 27% Scandinavia, 20% Italy/Greece, and trace regions Iberian Peninsula, Great Britain, European Jewish. No Native American.

So, do these results prove Sarah was not an Indian? In the photo of her with her husband, she looks like she had a dark complexion, and looked like she could have been Indian. Perhaps she was of Italian or Greek descent instead? And was she really adopted? Since she was born around 1853, and there are no adoption records for that time to really find out.

So, I’m not sure if I will ever find any answers to all the questions I have on my great great grandmother.

5 comments

  1. We are related somewhere along the family tree. They are my 3x great grandparents. We were always told about the Indian lineage, your post makes me curious about what my DNA results might turn up.

    1. Hi Stephanie. I would love to hear more from you! I am a descendant of Augustus and Sarah through their son, Stephen Cyrus Hettig. Have you taken a DNA test yet? If so, which company did you go with? I’m curious to what your results would be too.

      1. Their daughter Elizabeth Hettig Dotter was my 2x great-grandmother. I haven’t had a DNA test yet, I’m curious as to what results my other family members and I turn up.

Leave a Reply

