Genealogy Do-Over – Week 2

I am currently in the middle of Week 2 of the Genealogy Do-Over by Thomas MacEntee.

Just a quick update from last week. For Week 1, we were asked to come up with some base practices. This inspired me to learn more about the Genealogy Proof Standard and citing our sources. I ended up doing some online reading, and listening to YouTube videos on these topics as well. This led me to add and re-write to my base practices as well as purchase two books on the subject to learn more in depth about these topics. The first was Genealogy Standards: Fiftieth Anniversary Edition, by Board for Certification of Genealogists, and Evidence Explained by Elizabeth Shown Mills. Both of these books came highly recommended by several people. I am excited to start applying this new found knowledge of these practices to my own research.

Here is what I accomplished for week 2:

1. Self-Interview

I wrote a short biography on myself from birth to present day. I filled it with important dates, such as my birth, years of graduations and my marriage date. I listed key people in my life such as my parents, grandparents, godmother/aunt, uncles, siblings, spouse and my child and step-children. I listed places like my birthplace, where I grew up, school locations and places that I had lived.

I also started my brand new family tree database in my Family Tree Maker for Mac software, and filled in the names and places that I had mentioned in my interview. I filled in dates if I remembered them and crafted a source for my self-interview, based on what I had learned in Evidence Explained.

2. Conducted Family Interviews

I made a list of some people I could interview: my mom, my dad’s sister, my dad’s cousin, and my mom’s sister. I prepared a list of questions for each one of them, and either called or emailed them. I was surprised by the amount of additional information that I received from them. One aunt sent me the copies of my grandparents’ copy of their marriage certificate. Another aunt sent me a copy of my grandmother’s baptism certificate. I have been busy entering in the information from these interviews into FTM, and cited each of these facts with a citation crafted for each interview. I also created citations from the few certificates that I had of my own (my birth certificate, my marriage) and of the ones that I had received from my aunts.

3. Setting Research Goals

Armed with some names, dates and places from my interviews, I am ready to establish some research goals:

• Prove the birth dates of my parents.

• Prove the relationships between my parents and my grandparents

• Prove the birth dates of my grandparents

• Prove the relationships of my grandparents and great grandparents (if I was provided the names in the interviews)

That is actually, a fairly lengthy list. One that should take me lots of time, if I am to go about doing things more thoroughly. I am looking forward to next week, when we will concentrate on tracking and conducting research.

Leave a Reply

