GENEALOGY DO-OVER – WEEK 3

I am currently in the middle of Week 2 of the Genealogy Do-Over by Thomas MacEntee.

This weeks goals are tracking and conducting research.

Tracking Research:

I had been reading about this subject for several weeks before starting Genealogy Do-Over. I knew I was in need of starting to learn how to create a research plan and track my research. I had been in the process of developing a research plan, research log and correspondence log for myself using Evernote for some time. After looking at several samples, I settled on one I think fits what I want. I have a place to state my objective, how I came up with the current hypothesis, and then a place to list links and resources of how I will go about to research my objective. I intend to fill out one of these before starting a new name, or trying to solve a particular question before I start to conduct ANY research.

Once I begin researching, I will then enter all the information into my research log. The same goes for my correspondence log if I am writing to courthouses, churches, libraries, etc.

Conducting Research:

I had a few research goals I established last week. This week, armed with my new templates, I decided to focus on my grandfather, since I basically had the most for him already. Creating the research plan took me a few nights. I went through Ancestry and FamilySearch to see if there were any online collections that I could search that might confirm or give additional information on my grandfather. I also looked at Cyndislist.com for any other online collections that I could search. I didn’t just start randomly copying and pasting links. I looked at each one to make sure that dates and locations made sense with my objective. That is what took me the longest time

After I was satisfied that I had enough to start searching, I started. First entered in previous documents that I had held into my correspondence log. I had actually had the dates I sent away for the vital record documents that I held, so that’s what I entered into the log. Then, I checked off the box in my research plan, and added a note link from the correspondence log into my research plan. The research I did online, I entered into my research log, which again had a note link to my research plan. I also transcribed information from any document straight into the person notes field in my new, “Re-planted” tree in Family Tree Maker.

Here is the link to my research plan. I’ll see how this works as I continue with new research goals. I’m concerned Evernote’s limit with table rows may be a problem with a challenging problem down the road. But, for now, this is what I’m going with.

One comment

Leave a Reply

