WEEK 26: Peter Hawk – Not even halfway

The theme for Week 26 of the 52 Ancestors challenge is “Halfway.” I decided to write about my 4th great grandfather, Peter Hawk, since I’ve had to dig a little deeper on him recently when someone who was a close DNA match contacted me. So far, it looks like our connection is from our Hawk family tree. I feel like I’ve been ignoring my Hawk ancestors, so my research on them is not even “halfway.”

Peter Hawk was born May 1, 1791 in Polk Township, what is now Monroe County, Pennsylvania. His parents were Conrad and Elizabeth (Borger) Hawk. Peter married Elizabeth Eckhart some time before 1814. Peter and Elizabeth had at least 5 children: William, Maria, Elizabeth, Adam and Peter.

Peter was only around 33 years old when he died in 1824. He left behind his wife and young children. He is buried in the cemetery at St. Matthews Church in Kunkletown, Pennsylvania.

This is about all I know about my Hawk ancestors. Now that I have been corresponding with a Hawk “cousin,” I hope to learn more about them.

Leave a Reply

